Amp and Sub to 09 Liberty stock radio? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Liberty Forums > KK Liberty Forum > Amp and Sub to 09 Liberty stock radio?

Savvy/Currie Aluminum Control ArmsRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits ZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4w

Reply
Unread 06-19-2011, 10:57 AM   #1
Gustaj85
Registered User
2009 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Manhattan, KS
Posts: 4
Amp and Sub to 09 Liberty stock radio?

I have an 09 Liberty with the stock single disc w/sirius sat radio. I also have a single 10" sub and a 500w amp (didn't want much, just a lil more bass). How do I connect this to the stock system in my Liberty, I really don't want to change the head unit. Is there an adapter for the connector behind the radio, or what do I do?

Gustaj85 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-19-2011, 06:53 PM   #2
Jeepin11
Registered User
2011 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Utica, NY
Posts: 411
I was wondering the same thing.

Sent from my iPhone using JeepForum
__________________
2011 KK- 265/75-16 Wrangler Authorities on 16x8 Racelin Assault wheels
Jeepin11 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-20-2011, 07:28 PM   #3
SuperRliBerty
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,442
You will need a 4 channel adapter to convert the speaker level audio to lo level audio. I installed this one.
9e4b_12.jpg  
__________________
2008 Sport Liberty
Cold air intake*Trush (magnaflow) turbo muffler* Hypertech power program*
Hood Prop mod. Battery Quick Release mod.
Resonator removed (sounds like a V8 on start up)
SuperRliBerty is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-20-2011, 07:40 PM   #4
SuperRliBerty
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,442
This is the wiring diagram. All KK's have the white connector that contains the speaker level out.

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f292/...chart-1127933/
__________________
2008 Sport Liberty
Cold air intake*Trush (magnaflow) turbo muffler* Hypertech power program*
Hood Prop mod. Battery Quick Release mod.
Resonator removed (sounds like a V8 on start up)
SuperRliBerty is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-20-2011, 07:54 PM   #5
SuperRliBerty
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,442
you can get the plug-n-play harness from coastaltech. this is better than the adapter. check out the lockpic at their site: http://www.coastaletech.com/LIBERTY_INSTALL.htm
v4-20cable-20jpeg.jpg  
__________________
2008 Sport Liberty
Cold air intake*Trush (magnaflow) turbo muffler* Hypertech power program*
Hood Prop mod. Battery Quick Release mod.
Resonator removed (sounds like a V8 on start up)
SuperRliBerty is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-24-2011, 03:19 PM   #6
velocityss1985
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North Tonawanda, NY
Posts: 2
Please explain how that plug and play harness works? Do you use the audio outputs? Signal?
velocityss1985 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-24-2011, 04:04 PM   #7
bagwell
Registered User
2011 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Houston :(, TX :(
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocityss1985 View Post
Please explain how that plug and play harness works? Do you use the audio outputs? Signal?
plug and play means it plugs directly into the head unit and voila, you have your RCA outs....BUT I don't think this is the correct harness.
bagwell is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-24-2011, 04:21 PM   #8
velocityss1985
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North Tonawanda, NY
Posts: 2
I have that harness installed above along with the lockpic. I just went out and looked at it. It says video/audio output on the one set of RCAs. I measured the mV across the + and - it doesn't seem like a strong enough signal. My amp wants at least 200mV but I was measuring in the 100 range. What would be the correct harness? There is an open ended white plug that I believe has the speaker leads. I was wondering if I should use the speaker leads and a line level converter or if I should use those RCAs like above and go directly to the amp with them.
velocityss1985 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.