transmission issues...help! - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 05-16-2013, 09:51 PM Thread Starter
Stevusprime
Registered User
2004 KJ Liberty 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: drums
Posts: 7
transmission issues...help!

My 04 liberty has funny shift points and sometimes while from a stop takes a while to catch...i had it go into limp mode just the other day so i took the battery terminals off and held them together and it has been shifting ok..I have had the tranny rebuilt at a shop, but it still acts up...what can I do to further investigate?
Could it be maybe they used the wrong fluid, it seems over filled a little too.
It had a new computer (mounted on d/s wheel replaced back in 09)are they a common problem?

Stevusprime is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 05-17-2013, 05:39 PM
TwoBobsKJ
Senior Member
 
TwoBobsKJ's Avatar
2003 KJ Liberty 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Northern
Posts: 763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevusprime View Post
My 04 liberty has funny shift points and sometimes while from a stop takes a while to catch...i had it go into limp mode just the other day so i took the battery terminals off and held them together and it has been shifting ok..I have had the tranny rebuilt at a shop, but it still acts up...what can I do to further investigate?
Could it be maybe they used the wrong fluid, it seems over filled a little too.
It had a new computer (mounted on d/s wheel replaced back in 09)are they a common problem?
If you had it rebuilt then the shop that did it has some culpability for its bad behavior if the rebuild came with any kind of warranty. I would bet the shop used the wrong transmission fluid - they should have used ATF+4. No matter what they tell you that is the ONLY fluid appropriate for the 42RLE transmission.

Bob

2003 Renegade, Black
- 3.7L, 42RLE, 4.10's, 4X Guard Trans skid, Factory Engine, T-case, Tank skids, Custom BoulderBars, OME 927/948, Bilsteins, JBA A-Arms & 1/4" top plate, 1 extra rear iso/side, Moabs with Goodyear Duratracs 265/70-16
TwoBobsKJ is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 05-20-2013, 05:57 AM Thread Starter
Stevusprime
Registered User
2004 KJ Liberty 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: drums
Posts: 7
It was acting up before I had it rebuilt but it did not solve the problem at all...I went to the junk yard and pulled input/output sensor from an 01 jeep grand cherokee with the same part numbers...I haven't had a chance to out them in yet.
I think its more of a computer or ground issue than tranny, I read on another forum to shut the car off while driving and start it back up and it will shift through the gears and it works for now...any other ideas?
Stevusprime is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome