"New" 02 kj owner with concern. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Liberty Forums > KJ Liberty Forum > "New" 02 kj owner with concern.

Black Friday Sale - Deep Discounts from ExtremeTerrain.com6th Annual, Beat Your Wife to the Credit Card Sale!FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome Effect

Unread 06-19-2013, 09:57 PM   #1
02blulbrty
2002 KJ Liberty 

"New" 02 kj owner with concern.

I'm new to the Jeep/forum scene and have a possible problem. I just purchased an 02 kj 3.7 auto, with 99,000+ miles. Question is I just broke 100k and started to notice a "puff puff" sound running throughout the exhaust, speeds up as I accelerate, although doesn't seem to do it until it's at full operating temp. I've tried to google it, youtube it, and search forums, and it's definitely NOT a tapping or any kind of metallic sound. Been very nervous lately coming across all these blown 3.7 engine stories. Thanks in advance!

02blulbrty is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-21-2013, 10:36 AM   #2
kjrenegade03
2003 KJ Liberty 

Im not the best mechanic around and hopefully someone chimes in that could help you out.

When i got my used kj i had to replace the exhaust from the cats all the way down. I also did rhe head gasket too. Everything with parts was about $1300.