longevity of disk brakes - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Liberty Forums > KJ Liberty Forum > longevity of disk brakes

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineSavvy Billet LED Tail LightsWant to be able to SEE? DOT Approved Headlights for under

Unread 04-06-2003, 05:37 AM   #1
jibber

longevity of disk brakes

I've had my jeep liberty for a year and travelled 20 000 miles.
It has front disk brakes and rear drum brakes - however I now have to have the front disk brakes repleced or at the very least machined due to wear.
I don't think I am an aggressive driver - (although my girlfriend may somtimes disagree), and I am not towing anything with it.
The only thing I can think of is that I have done some sand and beach driving.
Would appreciate feedback from others as to the longevity of your brakes.

jibber is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-06-2003, 08:49 AM   #2
XR
2002 KJ Liberty 

Got 32K miles('bout 53K Kilometers) and mine stil have some life in them.Lots of off road dirt,rocks and mud(I hate mud) and no adverse effects.
Unread 04-07-2003, 08:04 PM   #3
Steven73

disc brakes

I have a 2003 Liberty, disc front and rear, and the rear discs got "grooved" as the dealer put it after only 5.000 miles of highway driving. I might not have noticed any problem,except they were groaning and squealing upon application at low speeds. Admitingly, there was gravel on the highway for traction during the winter, but damn.....rear disc resurfacing after only 5000 miles??????? I'm hoping this isnt a yearly occurrence.
Steven73 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-13-2003, 10:56 AM   #4
DAN C

front disc brakes