Jeep Liberty P2096 code - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Liberty Forums > KJ Liberty Forum > Jeep Liberty P2096 code

Building a Bumper?Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~

Unread 03-15-2012, 10:15 AM   #1
bassnleo
2005 KJ Liberty 

Jeep Liberty P2096 code

My C.E.L came on recently and it came up with the code P2096. I brought it to the mechanic and they told me it was the catalytic converter. After i heard the price i decided i would try to do it myself, i have basic knowledge of automobiles and tools. I did my brakes recently without a problem but im no ASE Mechanic. i called auto zone and the converter itself is 433 and the whole y pipe assembly is 800. Do i need to do the whole thing or will one work? how do i know which one to replace? Also do the o2 sensors need to be replaced as well? any information that could help will be greatly appreciated.
thanks
-matt-

bassnleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-15-2012, 11:04 AM   #2
tjkj2002
2002 KJ Liberty 

Do you have a welder and know how to use it? If not you will need the whole y-pipe assembly.

Just remember aftermarket cats are not nearly the same quality as OEM cats and why aftermarket cats are not 50 state legal.If your under 8 years and 80,000 miles just take it to the dealership since the cats are warrantied for that time.

But that code is not for bad cat's,the most common issues that set that code are bad downstream O2 sensors and/or bad upstream O2 sensors, and exhuast leaks.

I would get a better diagnoses before replacing the cats and if it is just a O2 sensor make sure it is not a Bosch O2 sensor,use only OEM or NTK O2 sensors in your Jeep.
Unread 03-15-2012, 01:59 PM   #3
richd
2008 KK Liberty