High pitched rubbing sound from rear - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Liberty Forums > KJ Liberty Forum > High pitched rubbing sound from rear

Savvy/Currie Aluminum Control ArmsROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO December Specials at Jeephut.com

Unread 07-11-2010, 06:30 AM   #1
hauserc
2007 KJ Liberty 

High pitched rubbing sound from rear

Hello,
I am new to both the forums here and to being a Jeep owner. I recently purchased a 2007 Liberty Sport. It is a 4x4 6sp manual. While driving in 5th and 6th gear a strange noise seems to come from the rear of the vehicle while maintaining speed. I am unable to reproduce the sound at low speeds. The sound immediately goes away if I either release the accelerator or push down harder and accelerate. The sound will persist if I put the vehicle into cruise control. The sound itself is hard to describe but it is a somewhat high pitched rubbing sound, it is not a clunking or scraping sound. I have not had the chance to take it off-road yet and it currently has 38k miles on it. I will be taking it back to the dealership soon (I have an extended warranty on it) but would like to know what is going on beforehand. Any ideas on what could be causing this sound? Thanks!

hauserc is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-11-2010, 10:24 AM   #2
Clockworkorange
2006 KJ Liberty 

I think it is a rear universal joint. I had the rear U-joint of the rear drive shaft replaced on my 06 at almost the exact miles that you have on now.
Mine was replaced under warranty, yours should qualify too. It is not an expensive repair that will not take them too long to perform. Nice to get the warranty though.
Clockworkorange is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Tags