Ball Joint Recall - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Liberty Forums > KJ Liberty Forum > Ball Joint Recall

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineSavvy Billet LED Tail LightsLight up the holidays with LED lights from JeepHut

Unread 11-17-2013, 09:12 AM   #1
webibeay
2004 KJ Liberty 

Ball Joint Recall

Hey Folks -

The Grand Cherokee finally died for good, so I just picked up a 2004 Liberty w/only 74k. Only concern is that the ball joints aren't right, and the dealer - while being upfront about it - after taking it to the local jeep dealer is telling me they're on national backorder and not sure when they'll come in.

Does this sound right? The dealer is stating that it's safe to drive since they're "not that bad".

Since I'm new to the Liberty.... is everyone dealing with this?

2012 Ford Fusion Sport
webibeay is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-17-2013, 09:37 AM   #2
streetglideok
2005 KJ Liberty 

Ball joint recall is old. I worked with one of the techs that likely did my balljoints back in the day. Said they went thru several rounds of balljoints, partially due to guys putting them in wrong, leading to premature failure. I would call around to the different dealers and ask for a price of balljoints, from the parts dept. That will clue you in as to whether they are backordered, or the dealer doesn't want the hassle. I find it odd that your kj is an '04 and they haven't been done yet.
streetglideok is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-17-2013, 12:58 PM   #3
webibeay
2004 KJ Liberty