2006 Liberty CRD for a Total Noob (me)? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Liberty Forums > KJ Liberty Forum > 2006 Liberty CRD for a Total Noob (me)?

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineNitro Gear Packages Now Available at Rockridge 4wdRIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all

Unread 05-27-2014, 10:34 PM   #1
ohyousooners

2006 Liberty CRD for a Total Noob (me)?

Other than getting to ride Engineer Pass in Colorado as a kid, my "Jeep Experience" is practically ZERO! However, I'm curious, and would like to get into some light trail stuff with my teenage son.

I'm aware of a 2006 Jeep Liberty CRD (diesel) for sale in my area. It's got 103,000 miles on it, and the owner wants $7500 for it. The sellers testimony and the pics seem to indicate it's in pretty good shape, but I have yet to inspect it.

I envision keeping this Jeep stock, and using it as a daily driver, with an occasional trip to the mountains for some fly-fishing and light 4x4 trail runs. The better MPG of the CRD is attractive for the daily duties.

I've heard some negative Jeep reviews, with complaints they are in need of frequent repair. Consumer Reports describes their reliability with a few black dots. Plus, I'm not super excited about the Jeep build quality in general. However, I'm not sure how the CDR engine stacks up in the reliability department.

While I'm fairly handy with basic car repairs and maintenance, I'd don't have the time or inclination to be working on a Jeep all the time. I'm just looking for my next car with the hopes it can do a little more than the typical boring Oldsmobuick.

Should I buy this Liberty CRD?
Thanks in advance for your opinions, recommendations, and warnings of notable pitfalls concerning the 2006 Liberty CRD.