Winch help - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > General Jeep & Off-Road Equipment > Winch help

RIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all ECGS Black Friday Sale!!6th Annual, Beat Your Wife to the Credit Card Sale!

Unread 01-09-2014, 04:59 PM   #1
Cmp8254
2012 JK Wrangler 

Winch help

A looking into the barricade bumper and want a winch to go along with it (insert your wife joke here...). I am new to the offroad world and confused with the difference between remote and integrated solenoid. Are there advantages of one ove the other? What's the real difference? Since we will be on the topics of winches, any suggestions for brands? I realize most will say Warn, but those are honestly out of my budget, I want to stay under $600 for a winch.

Cmp8254 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-09-2014, 05:28 PM   #2
RockyClymer
RedRock4Wheeler

2008 JK Wrangler 

Suggest you look at the JP Magazine website for their winch shootout...good info there. Remote solenoids are mounted in a separate housing from the winch, ie a Warn M8000 like I have, and integrated solenoid is mounted within the winch frame itself like a Warn 9.5cti...and integral solenoid is much better protected from water contamination and shorting compared to the remote solenoid mount. So, if you plan on any underwater winching, the later is better...lol. Hope this helps. I am a Warn fan, but there are other good products out there depending upon your needs, budget and type of driving, etc...Let me just say, when I need a winch, I need a winch...to me it is a matter of safety for me and my family.
"It takes a special kind of stupid to believe criminals will follow gun laws."