Winch cable/wire rope - questions/answers? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > General Jeep & Off-Road Equipment > Winch cable/wire rope - questions/answers?

Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippThe Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!The Ruffstuff NOT Universal 4 Link Kit!

Unread 10-13-2006, 06:51 AM   #1
CNY
2000 TJ Wrangler 

Winch cable/wire rope - questions/answers?

This thread is dedicated to all things about winch cables, whether it be wire rope, safety, usage, maintenance, or synthetic rope.

I am not a cable expert. What I post in this thread is from either reference material I have found, observation, or my opinion!

This thread was spurred by my off-topic posts in this thread:
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f27/winch-fixed-removable-326130/

I'll start us off with some info from that thread:

Last edited by CNY; 10-13-2006 at 07:14 AM..
CNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-13-2006, 06:53 AM   #2
CNY
2000 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pantheus
....{winching backward}... I was able to use two snatch blocks and multiple D-Rings and tree savers, and let the winch on the front do the job. Once I used a log between the front bumper and the winch line and went underneath to the rear and got out that way. [NOT recommended ! - DON'T do it, unless it means not getting home !]......
Quote:
Originally Posted by chim
How did you rig this? I'm trying to visualize it, but can't come up with anything that wouldn't result in trying to "stretch" the Jeep...................chim
For the cost of 8 snatch blocks, you can buy a second winch!

Unread 10-13-2006, 06:54 AM   #3
CNY
2000 TJ Wrangler 

Winch cable (wire rope)