What winch to buy? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > General Jeep & Off-Road Equipment > What winch to buy?

JEEP Gear Change Packages From ROCKRIDGE 4WD. We Are DIFFAlloy usa heavy duty ball joint kitsROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail

Unread 11-21-2011, 12:07 PM   #1
guncrazy72
1997 TJ Wrangler 

What winch to buy?

I am looking to buy my first winch and I am down between two so far. I know everyone always says buy a Warn but I am a high school student so my budget isnt to high. When I go out on trails Im always with other people so my winch might get used a few times a month if that. I am down between the Smittybilt XRC8 and the Rugged Ridge 8500 winch. I have read that some people have had issues with the Smittybilt but the customer service is good to work with. The Rugged ridge also has good reviews from what Ive seen.

Can anyone suggest out of the two what they would buy? Dose anyone have good or bad experience with either of the two?

Thanks

Unread 11-21-2011, 12:28 PM   #2
tjwrangler99
1999 TJ Wrangler 

alot of those winch's are made by a company in china... sooo they may actually be the same winch.
BFG AT 31's | BDS 2" Lift | JKS Quick Disco's | Zone Rear Sway Links | TeraFlex 1/2" Drop+Washer | Warn M8000 | Viking 80' 3/8 Synthetic w/ Safety Thimble | Viking 350 Fairlead | MetalCloak AL Bumper | 99 Durango Steering Box | Uniden 520 CB w/ 3' FireStik | ebay header | Magnaflow Mid-Cat | Banks Cat-back | XJ Steering Linkage | Hella Black Magic (x4)
2011 Patriot FD1
tjwrangler99 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-21-2011, 12:37 PM   #3
tjwrangler99
1999 TJ Wrangler 

I would seriously consider this... (warn vr8000)