Detroit TrueTrac on Jeep WJ with Quadra Drive - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > General Jeep & Off-Road Equipment > Detroit TrueTrac on Jeep WJ with Quadra Drive

Halloween Savings to die for!ZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4wNEW!! HMF 50"-52" light bar mounting brackets!!

Unread 08-26-2005, 02:27 PM   #1
chieeeeef

Detroit TrueTrac on Jeep WJ with Quadra Drive

Hello All... I'm a rookie at this so bear with me....

I have a 1999 Jeep WJ with DANA 30 3:73 gears up front. My Vari-Lok differential went bad (grinding, sticking) so I decided I would swap it for a Detroit TrueTrac. Purchased TrueTrac from Summit Racing (part # 912A314), dismantled the front end and placed the TrueTrac (that was the easy part). When I tried to install the stock axle the driver side was short and the passenger side won't go all the way in. I had the impression that the TrueTrac is a direct swap for the Vari-Lok and the stock axle should plug in. It wasn't the case. After a while I got frustrated so I returned the TrueTrac and purchased a Vari-Lok stock replacement. My question to all you experts is, did I need to get after market axles to make the TrueTrac work with my QuadraDrive?

Question 2: On the Vari-Lok Differential, is the plenum a vital part for the Vari-Lok to function?. It seem to me that for $130.00 for a piece of metal shielding is a bit too expensive.

chieeeeef is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-27-2014, 07:19 PM   #2
bwiygul
2000 WJ 

bump!! i'm in the same boat!!
bwiygul is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-01-2014, 03:20 PM   #3
rjbruzan
2004 TJ Wrangler