Cold Air Intakes! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > General Jeep & Off-Road Equipment > Cold Air Intakes!

2014 Spartan Locker Special - While Supplies Last! Dana 3OPTIC ARMOR WINDOWS all sale now !!!!!!!!Rockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits

Unread 02-18-2008, 04:07 PM   #1
pbskidz
2000 TJ Wrangler 

Cold Air Intakes!

Hi everyone, I just have some questions about intakes as I am interested in getting one in the near future.

First off, I have a 2.5L TJ. I am not worried about the heat in my engine, but I am in upgrade mode right now and I want some extra performance for when I put some 32" tires on later. So I just wanted some feedback, like what is a good brand for a 2.5L TJ, is it worth it, can a complete newb install it? I have had my eye on the AEM Brute Force intake for some time now, but whenever I mention this to people they say AEM is for cars and K&N is more suited for trucks. All I need is a little clarification from you guys who know your stuff and perhaps some pointers.

Thanks.

pbskidz is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-18-2008, 04:16 PM   #2
Skeezer
2005 TJ Wrangler 

I had an AEM Brute Force Air Intake on mine. Definately a noticable power difference. The only thing is that If you wheel in water, that thing becomes one big sponge. You will hydrolock in water. On street, your fine.
Unread 02-18-2008, 04:23 PM   #3
pbskidz
2000 TJ Wrangler 

Was yours with a 4 cylinder? Because in the description the brute force gives the 6 cylinders more horse power than the 4's.
Unread 02-18-2008, 04:28 PM   #4
Skeezer
2005 TJ Wrangler 

I have a 4.0L (6 cyl.)
Unread 02-18-2008, 04:29 PM   #5
Skeezer
2005 TJ Wrangler 

You'll definately notice a power difference. You also get a throttle body spacer with the AEM