Cheap trail rig platform - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > General Jeep & Off-Road Equipment > Cheap trail rig platform

FS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! SPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!Yukon Ultimate 35 axle kit for c/clip axles with Yukon Zip

Unread 05-09-2012, 11:47 AM   #1
maniacal_rick
2012 JK Wrangler 

Cheap trail rig platform

So im looking for something cheap. Really cheap. Im just getting into off roading and im not gonna trash a perfectly good (and expensive) wrangler only to not end up enjoying off roading.

Im looking for suggestions....samurai/tracker/X90? Cherokee/Grand Cherokee? What would you suggest?

This isnt going to be set up for anything specific...(mud, rocks, ect..)

Factors should be ease of maintenance, availability of parts, RELIABILITY.

Ive searched the forum, but since this is a jeep forum there isnt alot for other makes (that i found). Just looking for some friendly suggestions, help and maybe a gentle push in the right direction.

maniacal_rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-09-2012, 12:44 PM   #2
gearhead1985
1992 YJ Wrangler 

well go find a cheap 4x4 any thing will work and go beat the snot out of it get some freinds and go kill off and don't pay more than scrap price for it

i did that with a 89 ford ranger 2 weeks ago that had a broken frame i welded in a piece of 2x2 box tube to hold the frame back together and planning to beat on it again this weekend the third weekend in a row it just won't die and it flew a couple of times i must be a good welder

and when you wheel it take it some place leagal ie an offroad park or private land
Unread 05-09-2012, 04:19 PM   #3
BRae_in_a_ZJ
1997 ZJ