Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

San Diego Area

2M views 41K replies 369 participants last post by  Joe Dillard 
#1 · (Edited)
Looking to hook up with some beginning to intermediate off-roaders in the San Diego area.

I am a newb to jeeping but not to common sense. I bought a jeep to try, and if I like it I will buy another and give this one to my daughter.

I am truly a quick learner and looking for other beginners or some old salt that is just willing to share the wisdom of their experience.

I would like to go jeeping at least once a month and of course more during the learning stages.

Currently, fire roads are all I have found around hear and a few construction areas.

What I am proposing is that all the way south newbs UNITE... if we can find some old salts to come along we can all learn faster. But I say lets get this thing rolling...

WHO IS WITH ME....?

Current jeep is

88 YJ
31x10.5.15 BFG ATs
I6 258 carbed
Pretty good condition but I am replacing all the parts that should have been replaced ages ago. (Hoses/clamps/Top etc...)
(The jeep sat for 3 years so I'm shaking out all the cobwebs...)

See less See more
Reactions: w6pea
#18,922 ·
not to toot my own horn, but i'm actually a pretty experienced welder. i had to do quite a bit of it at my last job. ive done custom motor mounts, industrial welding, etc. i used to use a millermatic 251 on the daily :thumbsup: i did quite a bit of tig as well.

and ill be ditching the flux core and going gas. i already have a tank, regulator, etc. i pretty much have/had everything to weld, less the welder. :)
:thumbsup:

Sweet! I've got a Miller 175 unit I've been using for years now. It's a smaller 220 unit but it does the job! A welder is a wonderful tool to have. I still need to get a bender but at least I've got access to one. A plasma cutter would be nice to, again access.... but it's not mine.

Congrats on the "three-o". It ain't all bad once you get used to it!

#18,923 ·