Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

San Diego Area

2M views 41K replies 369 participants last post by  Joe Dillard 
#1 · (Edited)
Looking to hook up with some beginning to intermediate off-roaders in the San Diego area.

I am a newb to jeeping but not to common sense. I bought a jeep to try, and if I like it I will buy another and give this one to my daughter.

I am truly a quick learner and looking for other beginners or some old salt that is just willing to share the wisdom of their experience.

I would like to go jeeping at least once a month and of course more during the learning stages.

Currently, fire roads are all I have found around hear and a few construction areas.

What I am proposing is that all the way south newbs UNITE... if we can find some old salts to come along we can all learn faster. But I say lets get this thing rolling...

WHO IS WITH ME....?

Current jeep is

88 YJ
31x10.5.15 BFG ATs
I6 258 carbed
Pretty good condition but I am replacing all the parts that should have been replaced ages ago. (Hoses/clamps/Top etc...)
(The jeep sat for 3 years so I'm shaking out all the cobwebs...)

See less See more
Reactions: w6pea
#11,982 ·
Ive ventured into the world of rebuilding power shift transmisions if that counts. One out of one of these guys. Same thing right?

You can move a lot of chocolate with that thing.

#11,983 ·
LW would be a great trip for this weekend after all the rain we had.
Those ruts should be huge by now.
That was a fun place to practice your driving skills. I'm not sure it's ever been oficially "open" anyway. The gate's not locked. Don't go without a guide first time there tho'.
I go up there ALL the time with my buddy... its an awesome run for first-timers.
Count me in next time you guys go. He knows the area like the back of his hand. He's lived there his whole life. Pretty sure he can get his VW Manx buggy anywhere we can get our Jeeps! :laugh:

#11,984 ·