Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

San Diego Area

2M views 41K replies 369 participants last post by  Joe Dillard 
#1 · (Edited)
Looking to hook up with some beginning to intermediate off-roaders in the San Diego area.

I am a newb to jeeping but not to common sense. I bought a jeep to try, and if I like it I will buy another and give this one to my daughter.

I am truly a quick learner and looking for other beginners or some old salt that is just willing to share the wisdom of their experience.

I would like to go jeeping at least once a month and of course more during the learning stages.

Currently, fire roads are all I have found around hear and a few construction areas.

What I am proposing is that all the way south newbs UNITE... if we can find some old salts to come along we can all learn faster. But I say lets get this thing rolling...

WHO IS WITH ME....?

Current jeep is

88 YJ
31x10.5.15 BFG ATs
I6 258 carbed
Pretty good condition but I am replacing all the parts that should have been replaced ages ago. (Hoses/clamps/Top etc...)
(The jeep sat for 3 years so I'm shaking out all the cobwebs...)

See less See more
Reactions: w6pea
#8,002 ·
I'm gonna hang tight on the distributor stuff until Josh stops by later. I don't have the skills or confidence to deal with timing/ignition stuff just yet. I wanna have someone verify that I've done it correctly before screwing something up in my 4 banger POS.

Jeff, do you have any pics on how you installed the Caddy fuse block? How did you splice in all the individual lines?
Turns out the 2.5 timing is not adjustable, the distro just bolts down and the ecu takes care of it.

#8,006 ·
OK, so we know the coil is good...

:laugh:
so the timing is not adjustable. If it's off then there is a bad sensor (or a bad connection to the sensor), or a vacuum leak.

the cps seems to be a big source of problems on those and there is a simple ohms test for them to see if it is good

#8,007 ·