Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

San Diego Area

2M views 41K replies 369 participants last post by  Joe Dillard 
#1 · (Edited)
Looking to hook up with some beginning to intermediate off-roaders in the San Diego area.

I am a newb to jeeping but not to common sense. I bought a jeep to try, and if I like it I will buy another and give this one to my daughter.

I am truly a quick learner and looking for other beginners or some old salt that is just willing to share the wisdom of their experience.

I would like to go jeeping at least once a month and of course more during the learning stages.

Currently, fire roads are all I have found around hear and a few construction areas.

What I am proposing is that all the way south newbs UNITE... if we can find some old salts to come along we can all learn faster. But I say lets get this thing rolling...

WHO IS WITH ME....?

Current jeep is

88 YJ
31x10.5.15 BFG ATs
I6 258 carbed
Pretty good condition but I am replacing all the parts that should have been replaced ages ago. (Hoses/clamps/Top etc...)
(The jeep sat for 3 years so I'm shaking out all the cobwebs...)

See less See more
Reactions: w6pea
#41,122 ·
#41,124 ·
I thought all XJ 4x4's were HPD30 up front?
My 2000 came with the LP. Makes it a worthy time to upgrade to hp. From what I've read it was more prevalent in the last years of manufacturing.

Thanks to the above post for the lkq inventory, looking like I'll stop in next week. Saw that there are a few that should be hp30 and aren't wrecked body wise. Bumming I worked double last weekend and missed the 40% sale... $165 for an axle isn't the worst anyhow, figured there has to be plenty collecting dust in garages for those that have swapped to a 44.

#41,126 ·
until 2000. they switched to LP with the dual pre-cats just like the TJs got.