Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

San Diego Area

2M views 41K replies 369 participants last post by  Joe Dillard 
#1 · (Edited)
Looking to hook up with some beginning to intermediate off-roaders in the San Diego area.

I am a newb to jeeping but not to common sense. I bought a jeep to try, and if I like it I will buy another and give this one to my daughter.

I am truly a quick learner and looking for other beginners or some old salt that is just willing to share the wisdom of their experience.

I would like to go jeeping at least once a month and of course more during the learning stages.

Currently, fire roads are all I have found around hear and a few construction areas.

What I am proposing is that all the way south newbs UNITE... if we can find some old salts to come along we can all learn faster. But I say lets get this thing rolling...

WHO IS WITH ME....?

Current jeep is

88 YJ
31x10.5.15 BFG ATs
I6 258 carbed
Pretty good condition but I am replacing all the parts that should have been replaced ages ago. (Hoses/clamps/Top etc...)
(The jeep sat for 3 years so I'm shaking out all the cobwebs...)

See less See more
Reactions: w6pea
#39,062 ·
It will double as a daily driver, road trip vehicle, and weekend camper. Sleeps four comfortably, fully self contained, and can park in a normal parking space.

#39,063 ·
So you're building an RV? lol
Basically, an off road capable totally off the grid could live in it comfortably for an extended period of time get out of dodge fast heavy duty RV rolling on 33x11.50s one ton chassis.

#39,066 ·
So like my van but with 4wd? :) You should have bought a MFDRV and saved yourself some trouble
MFDRVs cant take the beating of off road, they are made cheaply, and they are heavy, designed for pavement driving, and most are designed for luxury.