Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

San Diego Area

2M views 41K replies 369 participants last post by  Joe Dillard 
#1 · (Edited)
Looking to hook up with some beginning to intermediate off-roaders in the San Diego area.

I am a newb to jeeping but not to common sense. I bought a jeep to try, and if I like it I will buy another and give this one to my daughter.

I am truly a quick learner and looking for other beginners or some old salt that is just willing to share the wisdom of their experience.

I would like to go jeeping at least once a month and of course more during the learning stages.

Currently, fire roads are all I have found around hear and a few construction areas.

What I am proposing is that all the way south newbs UNITE... if we can find some old salts to come along we can all learn faster. But I say lets get this thing rolling...

WHO IS WITH ME....?

Current jeep is

88 YJ
31x10.5.15 BFG ATs
I6 258 carbed
Pretty good condition but I am replacing all the parts that should have been replaced ages ago. (Hoses/clamps/Top etc...)
(The jeep sat for 3 years so I'm shaking out all the cobwebs...)

See less See more
Reactions: w6pea
#34,701 ·
Man that sucks Jeff :thumbdown: I was always concerned with damage to the R&P and locker with 30 spline or chromoly shafts. Seems if you get twisted up that force has to go somewhere and I'd rather blow stock axle shafts/u-joints than something in the diff. They're easy enough to swap out on the trail and used ones are had cheap enough to keep a few as spares.
Having ready access to spares is one reason I stuck with 27 spline.

Mark (progear) said he has general used chromo inner shafts and stock outers. There are pros and cons to using the "fuse" theory but no matter how you build some one thing has to be the weakest part. To me it seems better if it's cheap one.

#34,707 ·