Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

San Diego Area

2M views 41K replies 369 participants last post by  Joe Dillard 
#1 · (Edited)
Looking to hook up with some beginning to intermediate off-roaders in the San Diego area.

I am a newb to jeeping but not to common sense. I bought a jeep to try, and if I like it I will buy another and give this one to my daughter.

I am truly a quick learner and looking for other beginners or some old salt that is just willing to share the wisdom of their experience.

I would like to go jeeping at least once a month and of course more during the learning stages.

Currently, fire roads are all I have found around hear and a few construction areas.

What I am proposing is that all the way south newbs UNITE... if we can find some old salts to come along we can all learn faster. But I say lets get this thing rolling...

WHO IS WITH ME....?

Current jeep is

88 YJ
31x10.5.15 BFG ATs
I6 258 carbed
Pretty good condition but I am replacing all the parts that should have been replaced ages ago. (Hoses/clamps/Top etc...)
(The jeep sat for 3 years so I'm shaking out all the cobwebs...)

See less See more
Reactions: w6pea
#13,382 ·
I've been thru my vac lines, matter of fact I recently replaced a few cracked elbows on the vac system. could the charcoal canister be bad maybe?
lots of possible issues.

canister could be bad. line from there to the tank might be leaking. not sure if your year has a rollover valve.

manifold gasket. gas cap. filler tube. sender gasket in the tank.

also, the egr could be leaking.

wild guess would be a vacuum leak after the throttle body; if it was before the computer wold try to compnsate for it. OR, the O2 sensor or wiring could be bad.

are you getting any codes?

#13,384 ·