Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

San Diego Area

2M views 41K replies 369 participants last post by  Joe Dillard 
#1 · (Edited)
Looking to hook up with some beginning to intermediate off-roaders in the San Diego area.

I am a newb to jeeping but not to common sense. I bought a jeep to try, and if I like it I will buy another and give this one to my daughter.

I am truly a quick learner and looking for other beginners or some old salt that is just willing to share the wisdom of their experience.

I would like to go jeeping at least once a month and of course more during the learning stages.

Currently, fire roads are all I have found around hear and a few construction areas.

What I am proposing is that all the way south newbs UNITE... if we can find some old salts to come along we can all learn faster. But I say lets get this thing rolling...

WHO IS WITH ME....?

Current jeep is

88 YJ
31x10.5.15 BFG ATs
I6 258 carbed
Pretty good condition but I am replacing all the parts that should have been replaced ages ago. (Hoses/clamps/Top etc...)
(The jeep sat for 3 years so I'm shaking out all the cobwebs...)

See less See more
Reactions: w6pea
#3 ·
I have not touched real dirt in the jeep yet... and I am new to the area. I bought a book of the so cal trails..

But you can't go alone...

Is it an overnight trip?

#5 ·
JPJeeper said:
I have not touched real dirt in the jeep yet... and I am new to the area. I bought a book of the so cal trails..

But you can't go alone...

Is it an overnight trip?
well, depends on where you live ;)....but for the most part, ANZA (especially the easier trails) are just a day trip away....

here's some pics of a friend's recent trip (yes, that's a VOLKSWAGEN, lol)

#8 ·
Well let me get all my squirting fluids under control and we can get going.

I am very adventurous but I fear my jeep would crumble under what I want to do. The problem is, this is not the jeep I will be building up. So I want to start slow and see what she can do.