What's the proper way to repair these 2 CJ areas? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Paint and Body > What's the proper way to repair these 2 CJ areas?

FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueStainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge Bushings

Unread 04-13-2014, 07:27 PM   #1
Ken4444
Corripe Cervisiam

1985 CJ7 

What's the proper way to repair these 2 CJ areas?

I need advice on the correct way to repair these 2 areas. I am a body repair novice, having only done sheet metal work on the inside of the tub in about a dozen places. These 2 areas are on the outside of the tub and aren't flat surfaces, so I don't want to screw them up.

The first picture is under where the windshield hinge mounts, on the side. After I ground out the previous owner's patch, I found body filler and a fiberglass mat. It looks like there is an inner layer of metal behind the stuff I removed. I can weld in new metal, but I fear I will loose the indentation that is part of the factory design. I still need to get in there with the cutoff wheel and make a clean hole, but I need help in the best way to approach this.

The last pictures are the rear passenger corner where I backed into my BBQ pit. I think all I need to do is pound the sheet metal back to round, then prime and paint it. But can anyone give me a detailed procedure here? Don't assume I know what I'm doing, or have any body tools.

thanks!

repair-question-1.jpg   repair-question-2.jpg   repair-question-3.jpg  
Unread Today, 07:31 AM   #2
Ken4444
Corripe Cervisiam

1985 CJ7 

Bump.

I am still looking for guidance on these. Maybe I need to post wider-angle photos, especially on the top pic, so it's more clear where this area is on the Jeep.