very tight soft top????? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Paint and Body > very tight soft top?????

ROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail ANOTHER Rockridge4wd Creation!! Spare Tire Carrier Delete JEEP Gear Change Packages From ROCKRIDGE 4WD. We Are DIFF

Unread 05-24-2010, 07:07 AM   #1
bword

very tight soft top?????

Im very new to jeeps and never owned any type of convertable either. So a canvas top to me is like

-On my 95 that I just picked up it has a soft top obviously. Im having a hard time getting all the snaps connected right above the doors right now I have a few on there so its not flapping everywhere. Is there a way to make it a bit looser maybe ??

-Also on the back window one of the zippers is frozen from not being used for maybe a year. Is there a way to loosen em up..wd40 maybe??
-Recommended canvas cleaner? Recommend window cleaners mines pretty hard to see threw?

bword is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-24-2010, 07:47 AM   #2
Eaallred
1962 CJ5 

Park it out in the sunlight on a warm day. The heat will soften it up to stretch it into place.

For the plastic windows, i've found once you get them clean with soap and water, Pledge works great at polishing out plastic windows.
Eaallred is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-24-2010, 09:08 AM   #3
Demp
2013 JK Wrangler 

http://www.wd40.com/faqs/

I'd avoid the WD40 so near a window. Clear plastics and oil based cleaners don't go well together. You can check with some upholstery/vinyl/shoe repair shops about jammed zippers. Spray zipper lubricants might be the best chance to get it loose.