Rust!- 2001 TJ - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Paint and Body > Rust!- 2001 TJ

New DEAL OF THE WEEK at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 04-03-2010, 06:32 PM   #1
ryanrogers
2001 TJ Wrangler 

Rust!- 2001 TJ

I am having a problem with rust on both my fenders, the rear corners, and my tailgate/piece below tailgate (Rear Valiance?). Seeing how its new to me I want to get rid of the rust and get it painted. As I live in New York I just cant sand and repaint as the rust would be back in a week so I figure my only options are either to cut out the rust spots and replace with new steel or purchase new panels.

As I have no welding experience I am thinking that it would be easier to just get the new panels put them on and take the jeep to the painters- any suggestions on where to get new panels cheaply? Part of my problem is that I am at a disadvantage of never doing any body work (that I want to come out looking good).

I also am going to need to get new undercoating as rust is starting to poke through (ok - probably has been for the past few years but I looks like it can still be saved). I'm going to take it in and have it done as a local place has a deal where for the rest of the vehicles life they will touch up the undercoat for $50 or something close to that, but I would like to save some money by sand blasting the old coating and rust away myself. Anyone have any experience/tips they could give me or would it be better to go out and just have them do the blasting?

ryanrogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-03-2010, 06:39 PM   #2
JTS24
1999 TJ Wrangler