Herculiner on plastic side skirt - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Paint and Body > Herculiner on plastic side skirt

ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineSavvy Billet LED Tail Lights

Unread 05-16-2010, 12:54 PM   #1
garrardao

Herculiner on plastic side skirt

Hi i've got a 2000 grand cherokee laredo and my side skirts are faded. I've used mother's back to black and it looks really good when its applied but the problem is that it fades really fast! So i've been thinking about using rhino liner or herculiner on the side skirts for a more permanent fix. But i've never used it before and im not sure if it will stick to plastic and if i would need to sand the side skirts so it will stick better. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

garrardao is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-17-2010, 04:42 AM   #2
CopperCJ7
1984 CJ7 

I would suggest using Durabak instead. That stuff is made for exterior applications and has UV built right in. Herculiner will fade to gray also unless you mix in their UV coating. I'm fairly sure that if you scuff up the plastic and prime it, it'll stick to it. I would confirm that with the product's manufacturer before you buy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk View Post
What CJ owner doesn't want to hack up his harness for the next owner to have fun with?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broseph View Post
The thread will derail quicker than a walrus on a Crisco-soaked Slip 'n' Slide.
CopperCJ7 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-17-2010, 10:52 AM   #3
garrardao