Bought a YJ with unfinished paint...now what? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Paint and Body > Bought a YJ with unfinished paint...now what?

Steering and more from Ruffstuff!Ruffstuff 3 Link Kit!FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome Effect

Unread 04-09-2010, 10:16 AM   #1
Jeremy93yj
1993 YJ Wrangler 

Bought a YJ with unfinished paint...now what?

Hi all! Newbie here with my first post. I bought a 93 YJ as a project that didn't run, the paint job wasn't completed, and all interior parts and most external are in milk crates/coffee cans. I'm flying on this project!

Sunday-Looked at truck, made offer.
Monday (After work)-Trailered it home.
Tuesday (After work)-Got it running.
Wednesday (After work)- 1st coat of Herculiner to tub.
Thursday (After work)- 2nd & 3rd coat of Herculiner to tub.
Friday (today, after work)- I'll be reassembling the interior.

So I'm making great progress and though it would be longer until I had to figure out what to do with the paint. I know NOTHING about auto paint and have exactly 0 experience with it. The prior owner said he put 4 coats of Duplicolor on it, and all it needs is wet sanding and clearcoat. I knodded knowingly and thought to myself, "What the hell is wet sanding?"

Is this something I can do myself? What tools do I need? Will a paintshop just clearcoat it for cheap? And whats a fair price? Some of the hinges were removed and are developing rust.

I'm not looking to make this truck the Belle of the Ball, I just want it to look OK. I am also well known as a cheap-***. Here is my plan, and please give me your advice:

1. Grind down, prime and paint the hinges with Duplicolor spray cans.

2. Wet sand the body (whatever that is)

3. Take it to Maaco or some other dump for a clearcoat.