ZMotorsports 2011 JKUR Build - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 51 Old 08-10-2015, 09:32 AM Thread Starter
zmotorsports
2011 JK Wrangler 

ZMotorsports 2011 JKUR Build

I am new here but thought I would throw up some pictures of my Jeep build. It is not real time as I have owned it now since November 2011.

My name is Mike and I am a mechanic by trade and pretty much enjoy anything and everything with an engine. I am married to an awesome woman who has supported me and all of my addictions throughout our 26 years of marriage. Our family has been involved in drag racing, showing cars, snowmobiling/hill-climbing, duning, sand drag racing and Jeeping/off-roading. My son is just as much of a gearhead as I am and enjoys wrenching on and building stuff in the shop with me. We have gotten out of all of our motorsports now with the exception of Jeeps and Harleys so this afforded me a little more of a budget to put into our 2011 Jeep.

My wife and I have had several Jeeps over the past 23+ years including a 1991 XJ and two 1996 ZJs and my son owns a 2004 LJ. This Jeep is my daily driver/weekend wheeler plus my wife and I tow it behind our coach when traveling as we have done will all of our previous Jeeps. I also wanted this to show off my abilities and to prove to people that a mechanic can have a nicely built vehicle that can be built in a home shop every bit as nice as those "professional" shops.

This build thread will not be in real time so I apologize as it may appear this has been thrown together quickly. However, I started building this around December of 2011 and finished for the most part by around March 2012. It is however a Jeep, so they are never truly done and I will continue to update this thread as I either change or add things on the Jeep.