The Wasteland Survival Guide: Engineering Greta - Page 112 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Builds > The Wasteland Survival Guide: Engineering Greta

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFlowmaster's Force II Axle-back exhaust system for the 201FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 07-05-2012, 06:04 PM   #1666
tanksoldier
1997 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
The best thing you can do is know where you are (GPS/Good Maps and landmarks) and the quickest way to get help to you.
As a former EMT/ firefighter I agree... except that, under the circumstances which predicate this build, ambulances and EDs probably won't exist.

Getting training is good, but most of the advanced training and the accompanying certifications are perishable skills.

There is also the triage aspect. If you're in a situation where the ambulance ISN'T coming and somebody needs advanced life support to survive they probably aren't going to recover no matter how much time and resources you put into it, and you'll probably have better uses for that time and those resources. A good first responder or EMT-B class, a copy of "Where There Are No Doctors" and "Where There Are No Dentists" and some basic equipment will let you improvise treatment well enough to handle just about anything a person can recover from on their own. Even some surgeries like an appendectomy.