upliftmofo's 1999 XJ build - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Builds > upliftmofo's 1999 XJ build

Year End Clearance Sale! Save 20%Warn, Smitybilt, Engo, Rugged Ridge Winches at CCORIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 10-21-2014, 07:00 PM   #1
upliftmofo

1999 XJ Cherokee 

upliftmofo's 1999 XJ build

Hey, so I'm a long time lurker, first time poster. I guess the simplest reason this is my first post is because of that nifty little function called the "Search" button...I havent had a need to post any questions because all mine have been answered by the extensive knowledge of the Jeep Forum community. So to all of you un-sung heros, I thank you.

Now, to the build;
I am very new to this, and this is my first Jeep. I bought it a few months ago with hopes that I would turn it into a worthy off-road vehicle that could help me find some trout streams off the beaten path. I bought a completely stock 1999 Cherokee Sport. It needed some small maintenance repairs to start, front rotors and pads, and the wheels were rusty and tires worn. I did the brakes right away and my father-in-law hooked me up with alloy rims and better tires he hauled off his TJ just after he bought it.
So this is how it looked then;
[IMG][/IMG]

The first of the performance upgrades I decided on were a suspension lift and new, bigger rubber. I went with a 3.5" Rubicon Express Superflex kit with new leaf packs. I went with this kit because I liked the superflex control arms, and that it included sway bar disconnects.