Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

SXOR single seat buggy build

31K views 203 replies 19 participants last post by  Hokie_YJ 
#1 ·
I haven't been on this board much at all since I sold my old YJ a few years ago. I was just looking at my old thread reminiscing and I thought I'd share my new build here too. I hope this is the right place to post this, it doesn't really fit anywhere else. I'll copy/paste the build so far from another board, but I'll try my best to keep this thread updated.

I've been gathering parts for this build for almost two years. Progress will probably still be slow, but I'm going to copy my build thread here. Hopefully somebody will get some entertainment out of it.

I found a deal on my favorite chassis design that was just too good to pass up. I picked it up as a rolling chassis. It's been built for several years, but it's never been finished. It will most likely be a slow build as I plan to keep my other buggy for now also.

I've been in love with this chassis design ever since I saw this buggy several years ago.

Hopefully when it's done it will look something like these. The first pic is actually the same buggy as above, it's just been updated and re-skinned.

Specs:
-'05 SXOR rear engine, single seat chassis
-empty flipped 609 housings
-3-link front, 4-link rear with .250 wall links
-14" SAW air shocks
-New SXOR Liberty hood and lexan skins

Here's a couple quick pics. I'll get some more detailed ones up soon.

See less See more
#4 ·
Parts list so far.

Engine: 6.0L LQ9 with cut down stand-alone harness and re-programmed computer.

Transmission: Hughes built Powerglide with Atlas adapter

Front axle: 35 spline Moser inner shafts and custom made CTM stubs for the Dodge unit bearing outers with CTM joints. Yukon nodular 3rd, spool, 5.13s, 1350 yoke

Rear axle: FF 60 outers, with 35 spline shafts. Yukon nodular 3rd, spool, 5.13s, 1350 yoke.

Wheels: 17x9 Stazworks double beadlocks

Tires: 39" BFG Reds

#5 ·