Project Goldilocks - The 2001 Gold WJ - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Builds > Project Goldilocks - The 2001 Gold WJ

Trailing Arms!JK Vent Covers - NalinMFGComponent speaker deal for your dash - NalinMFG

Unread 09-29-2014, 11:02 PM   #1
dustyeye
2001 WJ 

Project Goldilocks - The 2001 Gold WJ

This is my first build thread on the Jeep Forum. I'm now on my 3rd Jeep, and have finally decided to give one of them it's own thread. I'll be adding to this as I improve the Jeep, so keep checking for updates!

To start off, my first Jeep was a 1994 Cherokee, with a 4.5" RE SuperFlex lift kit. I loved this Jeep and kept it for over 3 years, but without regearing the axle, and no other supporting mods it was a pig on the road and I eventually sold it at 215k miles still running like a champ. After that I bought a 96 ZJ 5.2 which got nearly no modifications to it and was just strictly to get me from point A to point B. Finally, just over a year ago I bought my current Jeep and the subject of this thread, a 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. I bought it from the original owners with 80k miles. Not a single scratch on the entire thing, perfect condition and was towed behind an RV for a good part of its lifespan.

First thing I did was throw a 2" Daystar Budget boost with an IRO adjustable trackbar and some new shoes on it:

After that I decided to paint the old faded grey fascia to a nice Satan black. I used the Krylon Fusion spray paint. Fantastic stuff for plastic. I topped it off with a layer of Rustoleum clear coat.

Then I decided I didn't like the JK Moab wheels so I bought a new set of aluminum alloy wheels with 4.5" backspacing from Summit Racing: