Nick's New 1966 Wagoneer Build - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Builds > Nick's New 1966 Wagoneer Build

Grizzly Lockers available at Rockridge4wd.comThe ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! BroughYukon Ultimate 35 axle kit for c/clip axles with Yukon Zip

Unread 03-16-2013, 01:29 PM   #1
84_Fiero

1966 FSJ Wagoneer 

Nick's New 1966 Wagoneer Build

Hello all and welcome to the build thread for this brand-new-to-me 1966 Wagoneer. I have been in the Jeep world for a while now, and recently traded this ’96 Cherokee for my daily drive and until very recently only car: an ’89 2 wheel drive S-10. But that was when I was a poor college student working part time, and now I am a poor part time college student working full time, so I was happy to get the chance to get back into a Jeep!

And what a Jeep:
1966 Kaiser Jeep Corporation Wagoneer
AMC 327 “Viginalte” V8
Automatic (not my favorite feature…)
Dana-20 transfer case
Dana-30 front
Dana-44 rear

During the 35 mile ride home it never got over 190 degrees and held 50psi of oil pressure at speed (just under 20 at idle). Most of the ride was on the freeway and it tracked perfect at 60mph. The guy I got it from had it shipped from Washington State, nice and solid body and frame!

So there you have it, pretty solid foundation! Now, what is he going to do with it?! Well after reading Dr. Marneaus’ build thread I really like what he’s doing. Keeping things as original as he can, and updating where/when he can. So my initial thoughts are along the lines of:

4” lift
31” or 33” tires not sure yet, Marneaus says his 33s rub a bit, so that’s to be determined…
I’d like to replace the trans with a manual, but that’s also to be dertermined…
Fix the little rust around the wheel wells
Rear hitch
Roof Rack