My 1989 YJ Craigslist find & Build - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Builds > My 1989 YJ Craigslist find & Build

1984-2001 Jeep Cherokee Front Upper & Lower Control ArSwag Off Road BIG-HIT TJ-YJ Rear BumperFS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome Effect

Unread 01-16-2014, 03:47 PM   #1
bashbro
1989 YJ Wrangler 

My 1989 YJ Craigslist find & Build

Hello,
I have been lurking and asking questions on this forum for a long time now and have thoroughly enjoyed reading everyone else's build threads so it's time to start mine and catch everyone up. Let's start from the beginning:

2005: I am a freshman in college and talking to my father about cars. We are both car guys and love to drive, but are far from mechanics. So I propose to my dad that I want to buy a cheap old car and fix it up. The goal will be to learn everything I/We can, spend some time together, and end up with a fun weekend driver. Dad is 100% supportive and there to help but it's up to me to do the research, find the car and put up the money. So the hunt begins... I ask some of the other car guys I know for their opinions and advice as to what would be a good car to start out and learn on. We start talking about old VW Beetles, maybe an old mustang, and if I come across a good deal maybe a Jeep. So the hunt begins primarily on Craigslist. A few weeks go buy and a few inquiries later, I come across a guy in North Jersey selling his 1989 Jeep YJ for $1,000. Comes with Hard Top, a set of full hard doors, a soft top (missing a few pieces) and a set of half steel doors. I know something has to be wrong with it but maybe its not thaaat bad. I call up the guy, he explains that it's not shifting right and he thinks it’s a slave cylinder but doesn't really know and he doesn't hav