"mighty grey" - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Builds > "mighty grey"

Bds fox ipf 2.0 racing series shocks now available at rockYukon Ultimate 35 axle kit for c/clip axles with Yukon ZipANOTHER Rockridge4wd Creation!! Spare Tire Carrier Delete

Unread 10-24-2013, 04:49 PM   #1
ctrim78
1986 CJ7 

"mighty grey"

Ok heres my project i have been working on for the past four years. Why it took so long you ask, two reasons.....im raising a 4 year old and i dont have deep pockets so bills and family come first. Anyways lets get this post goin here...

Here it is as i got it...

Inside the engine compartment you could tell the PO really went hacking and rigging **** up...

Time to start tearing her down. Im not gonna go into too much detail to keep this post to the point.

First thing was get the body off...

Next was engine and trans...

Gettin her down to the frame...

Only thing i had to do to the frame besides sand and paint was replace the rear crossmember. So after all that was done, time to start building her back up. Im gonna save the motor and engine compartment for last but that can all be done with it back together anyway so i put the 4" suspension lift on with 1.5" shackles and get the engine back in...

As you can see from this shot the pinion angle is ridiculous. Some shims will take care of that. I also installed a double cardan driveshaft from a stock cherokee to help in the rear as well...

Went with a plastic fuel tank to not have to worry about rust again....

Decided to go with an automatic so i had a tf999 rebuilt with a new shift kit and custom made torque converter. Also clocked the transfer case so i now have flush ground clearance all the way across...