Mean Green Build on a (College) Budget - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 298 Old 02-07-2011, 11:53 AM Thread Starter
WhyJayPA
1988 YJ Wrangler 

Well here's a 3 year update. Things changed...a lot. Went to 1 tons, and a rear 4 link setup. New thread is on Pirate 4x4. Pics explain it better than words.

http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/jeep-...-yj-build.html

**EDIT**

EDIT: Jeep is currently set up with the following:

355 SBC 400hp/400 ft. Lbs.
SM465 transmission
NP231 w/ MegaShort SYE
Ford 8.8 4.10 LSD
Dana 30 4.10 Stock (next upgrade)
BDS 3.5" Springs
Boomerang Shackles

In Design Process:

Rocker guards
Rear tire carrier (OR Fab-style)
Winch Plate w/ fairlead

MOTOR/AXLE SWAP STARTS ON PAGE 10

Hey guys,

I figured I would start my own build thread in order to keep track of my build and to let everyone see what I've done and hopefully help someone out via pictures or discussion. I'm new to jeeping but been into cars my whole life so I may make a mistake here and there so feel free to correct me if I post incorrectly.

Background on the Jeep: I bought this 1988 YJ 4.2L 5 speed in Maryland in mid-January as a project. It was owned by an older gentlemen who only used to to drive in the summer with the top off. It came with a bikini top and a supertop frame with no skin. I found the ad on Craigslist and was not very fond of the color but when I saw it in person I decided to keep it painted the way it was. It is a very unique color from AMC that was called "big bad green" or something along those lines. The PO had also truckbed-lined the tub and put brand new tires on it prior to selling it. He also decided to sticker it up with "Jeep Jeep" stickers and decals of Pop-eye's assistant Eugene. So, only fittingly, I named him Eugene. The stickers are definitely being thrown out and the dodge floor mats that came in it were thrown out upon entrance into my garage.