lolitsdaelan's "I have no idea what I'm doing" build thread ('99 TJ) - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Builds > lolitsdaelan's "I have no idea what I'm doing" build thread ('99 TJ)

Building a Bumper?Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~

Unread 03-05-2013, 10:39 AM   #1
lolitsdaelan
1999 TJ Wrangler 

lolitsdaelan's "I have no idea what I'm doing" build thread ('99 TJ)

As the title implies, I have zero experience working on Jeeps, and more or less autos in general. However, after a trip to Silver Lake Dunes up in Michigan this past summer, I was set on getting a Jeep and building it up. Fast forward a few months of shopping around, and I ended up with a '99 TJ Sport in desert sand pearl...

The PO had a RC BB on it, as well as the stock JK wheels (using an adapter). Other than that, the Jeep was bone stock. Immediately I started building a list of all the mods I wanted. A nice big lift, 33s, recovery equipment, armor, etc... The list went on. Thankfully, I had a moment of clarity and realized that I had no idea why I wanted those modifications other than they looked cool. I also had no idea what went in to doing such modifications. Transfer-case drop? SYE? I had produced a list of things I knew nothing about. It was about this time that I met Imped, who luckily for me lives a short drive away. He gave the Jeep a quick look over and put many misconceptions I had to rest. Since then, I've been a bit more methodical about the whole process, and I'm trying to stick to the more necessary upgrades before I start adding the visual upgrades. Although, I'm sure I'll sprinkle in some 'fluff' upgrades just to keep myself happy

Stage 1:
- Remove BB and put in 2.5" springs (Front springs installed, awaiting rear)