Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Jeeping Ohio - Hallsofstone's TJ Build

18K views 162 replies 21 participants last post by  hallsofstone 
#1 ·
Well folks, I've put this off long enough. I've been making some changes to my rig over the last few months and I'm heading into a major revamp of the suspension and doing a lot of overhaul kinds of stuff. Not a rich fella (unless things change) so you can expect this build to be on a small budget and to move at a slower pace than most....but faster than some.

My goal, post college, was to find a 4x4 to use around the farm and DD. When I graduated, I came home with my commuter Civic and daily drove that while I worked and saved. Moved into a family house on the other side of the farm and decided that it was time to get a Jeep. I looked at Cherokees and then decided firmly on a Wrangler.

I traded my 97 Honda Civic even up for the 94 YJ pictured below. My parents named it the "Black Sheep Jeep". I daily drove it, lifted it, wheeled it, and generally abused it. She was a learning experience I won't forget. She was sold to a local friend who still has her as a project.

When I got her:

When I sold her:

I had spent a bunch of time looking for a TJ. I wanted the D44 and really any and all aftermarket parts I could get already installed. Found the TJ I have now on CL. Owned by a local guy who was really cool. Used the money from the YJ sale to pay off half of the TJ and refinance, making monthly payments low and easy. Leaves me Jeep money...well sometimes.

The day I bought her:

A few days later:

(I have a few more pictures on another drive that I'll edit in later)

As Purchased:
2000 TJ Wrangler
160k miles
4.0L (replaced original with super low mile engine)
NV3550 5 spd
D30 front
D44 rear
3.73 gears
Open/Open diffs
Skyjacker Hydro shocks
2" budget boost with LJ coils (bout 3" lift total)
1.25" body lift
Homebrew Swaybar Disconnects
35x12.50x15 Maxxis Bighorns
Soft 8's
Rock Slider steps
Wide Flares
CJ front bumper
Winch Plate