Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Holm-z's TJ build... work in progress

44K views 298 replies 12 participants last post by  Holm-z 
#1 ·
This is my first attempt at a Build thread so bear with me... :rolleyes: I figured I probably should start one more or less for myself so I can remember all the things I have done, should have done, should NOT have done :brickwall: and what not. So here it goes, and in no particular order as Im just gonna update as I remember. :cool:

So Ive owned my 98 TJ since 2003, but only recently (last few years) started to build it up slowly as time and funds allow.

Ive wheeled it quite hard over the years and am extremely impressed with how well it has done. Of course I have been stuck numerous times but ive also been on trails where CJ's with 6"+ of lift and 35's had trouble and I still made it. :cheers:

This was my DD since spring of 2003 - fall 2008 so nothing too drastic of changes occurred in that time frame. Ill update with pics as I find them, although most of the work was done before I ever thought about taking pics to make a build thread. So bear with me and enjoy! :cheers2:

#2 ·
Here is a few pics of when I just got the rims and tires back in summer of 2004.

Attachments

#3 ·
It originally came with a spice soft top but it was starting to fray around the plastic that snaps in above the doors, and the drivers side zipper on the door skin went bad so I tossed it. I ordered a Topdawg aftermarket hard top with upper sliders. I LOVE IT! its got a 3 position sun roof, roof rack, carpet lined and rear defrost with rear tinted windows.

#4 ·
Nice combo with the spice and the green, may i suggest taking off those tail lights covers? I had them and they made nice dents in the back of my tj.

#5 ·
Ya I have been thinking of taking them off.. Although they have been on there for years and been no issue yet (key word YET). lol

#6 ·