Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Heep to Jeep - 97 TJ Build

280K views 1K replies 211 participants last post by  Cotton 
#1 ·
I have really enjoyed looking at all the build threads here on JF and the build by Gerald with Savvy "2003 Unrolled (pics)" actually inspired me to buy this Jeep. I bought this heep back in early July 08 and have spent the following couple months putting it back together. I thought I would create a build thread for everyone to enjoy. My intent of this build was first to get the Jeep running and driveable and go from there, however building this on a budget was important and getting as many things as possible used was my intent. I have been working on the jeep for a couple months and will do my best to update you with my past progress and any further updates. Please be patient as is might take me some time in between posts. Thank you for your time!!

The jeep specs are as follows:
97 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
4.0L
5-Speed
Dana 30 and 35 3.55's
127,000 miles
4" Pro Comp Lift
Quick Disconnects
Clean Title

Here are some Pics

See less See more
#14 ·
Here is the xj axle......not a High Pinion...but o well it is the right gear ratio!! Everything bolted right up with out any big issues! Picked up some Free 32X11.50 BFG All Terrians with about 1/4" of tread left from my Cousin....should work for the time being. Also found a full set of TJ sport flares for $60 bucks...threw these on and we are getting close to a test drive!!

#16 ·
That is probally the most frustrating thing!! Tring to figure out the little missing bolts etc. It is hard enough to find a bolt when you have one to reference off of....but when you don't even know what you are looking for..that is a pain! I need to just set up a tent in the local hardware store :)

#17 ·
Hey it's got quick disconnects, ur set to go :thumbsup:

looks like a fun project