Edelbrock 1803 vs Holley 4160 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Builds > Edelbrock 1803 vs Holley 4160

Ring & Pinion's, Lockers, 4340 Axles, Install Kits, BaRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 07-02-2013, 08:58 AM   #1
ctdyess
1979 CJ7 

Edelbrock 1803 vs Holley 4160

Hello Everyone!

First, let me say "thanks" to everyone on this forum - I have NEVER done any mechanical work prior to finding this forum and have saved literally thousands of dollars doing it myself from all of the help you folks provide. I am still learning....

Now to my issue - I have a '79 CJ7 Renegade with a 304 - PO says was ""beefed up", but not certain what all that entails. Edelbrock Performer intake and had a VERY old and slightly grumpy Edelbrock 600cfm carb. Instead of a rebuild, I spoke to Edelbrock about a new carb - they recommended the 1803 - 500cfm. Have had on for a couple of months and it has great low end torque now, but a strange hesitation when letting off and stepping on the throttle, and pushing to the floor results in a bad stumble.

Called Edelbrock and they recommended that I buy a step up spring kit and possible a different plunger (I have tried the different throttle body settings to no avail). So now I'm thinking I bought the wrong carb...the place I bought the carb recommended the Holley 4160 as a replacement and will take the Edelbrock back. I jumped online to check experiences with the Holley and have found very few poor ones.

So my question is, have any of you any experience between the two? Can you recommend the Holley over the Edelbrock? Please keep in mind that even though I think in my head that I am a master Jeep mechanic, I'm really not....