Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

College Build

2K views 15 replies 7 participants last post by  madflyer72 
#1 ·
So here is the deal, so currently I am a college student with no money. Sure I get money from the military but that is basically just enough to get by. I always wanted a Wrangler but my parents were optimistic because my neighbor had one who always got drunk and rolled it. So finally last summer before leaving for training at Ft. Knox, I got the ok to get a jeep. I found one at a dealer for $7000. It was a 2000 blue wrangler completely stock with a 2.5Lt engine (little did I know about the big 4.0) and it only had about 60000 miles on it.

So here it is the day I got it.

Next I put some sound in it. After working for Circuit City for a while in their Firedog department (car audio installation) I needed sound. Especially when i found out how loud it was driving in a soft top. So I put a new head unit in and some new speakers.

There are also kickers in the front but i forgot to take pics of them.

After coming back from Ft. Knox I started school again in Mankato, MN. After seeing the aftermath of what kind of winter Mankato has, the hunt began for a Hard top. Finally found one on craigslist for 600 bucks and was satisfied. The only down side was that It was in Madison, WI, my home town, which is about a 6 hour drive back....

Next came tires. I got some old 31x10.5x15 from my roommate which were completely bald but none the less had a better look. As soon as the down poor of snow came though, I quickly realized that I needed a new set. So my roommate showed me a site that sold retreaded tires. I did some research and found that Tredritetires.com looked legit and it was half the cost of a reg tire.

The day the tires got here....

I then got my rims powder coated black and got my tires installed by my friend.

It was about -5 degrees outside.