Cliptfc's 97 Wrangler with 4.8L GM swap - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-19-2016, 05:17 PM Thread Starter
cliptfc

Cliptfc's 97 Wrangler with 4.8L GM swap

I thought I would do a write up on my build. I was trying to make this build as budget friendly as possible. I've never done a swap before, and consider myself an average shade tree mechanic. Here's the day I bought the Wrangler last year, for $4200. She was a good running 4cyl with an auto transmission.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 05-19-2016, 05:20 PM Thread Starter
cliptfc

Taking out the 4cyl, auto transmission and transfer case out in one pull...

Open hole...
post #3 of 9 Old 05-19-2016, 05:22 PM Thread Starter
cliptfc

Here's the 4.8l, 4l60e transmission and the np231 transfer case mounted up. I used the Advance Adapters kit to mate the 4l60e to the np231 t-case.
post #4 of 9 Old 05-19-2016, 05:25 PM Thread Starter
cliptfc

I decided to use the Superior Radiator (out of Michigan) for cooling. I went with one that had the transmission cooler built in.
post #5 of 9 Old 05-19-2016, 05:30 PM Thread Starter
cliptfc

I didn't trust my welding ability enough to weld the new mounts in, so I trailered it over to a friend's place. I used the Advance mounts and they give you a tool to show you right where to weld them in.
post #6 of 9 Old 05-19-2016, 05:35 PM Thread Starter
cliptfc

Fitting the engine, transmission and tcase in. I put them in all in one drop....all mated up. I left the front grill off for the drop in.

post #7 of 9 Old 05-19-2016, 05:42 PM Thread Starter
cliptfc

The Advance kit required you do at least a 1" body lift. I went with the Zone 1.25" and it was a simple install. With the engine in, I realized it would need a suspension lift as well, as the power steering pulley was close to the front diff housing. It would have probably hit if it bottomed out. So keeping things on a budget, I went with Rough Country's 2.5" spring lift, with new shocks.