Cheap Jeep Story - Kodiak, AK - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Builds > Cheap Jeep Story - Kodiak, AK

End of Summer Sale, 20% OFF!2007 - 2011 Jeep JK Long Arm Lift KitsIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 08-05-2014, 07:54 PM   #1
thevanillaninja
2002 WJ 

Cheap Jeep Story - Kodiak, AK

First off, let me introduce myself.This is my first build thread and I think my only vehicle(s) worthy of one. I'll explain that part later.

I'm active duty Coast Guard with a few years in. Diesel mechanic by trade; currently in charge of a small fleet of gas outboards. I've spent most of my time on the East Coast growing up and then with the Coast Guard, so when I got orders to Kodiak, Alaska, my wants and needs changed quite a bit from the 2010 diesel Jetta I was driving. I went looking for the safest, most capable (stock) Jeep I could find that fit a car seat easily. I ended up with a 2002 Grand Cherokee Overland, V8, limited slips... all that jazz. My wife pretty much claimed that, but it's OK since I ride my bike to work (3/4 of a mile when you live on base!) It's also fine with me because I'm admittedly cheap, which will play out in this build.