Building a Jeep with no car knowledge.... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Builds > Building a Jeep with no car knowledge....

NEW!! HMF 50"-52" light bar mounting brackets!! Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineYear End Clearance Sale! Save 20%

Unread 09-28-2014, 12:08 PM   #1
LoadedMod94

Building a Jeep with no car knowledge....

Here's my story, I'm 16 and want to (in the future, 5-10 years down the road) build an awesome Willys CJ2a. The problem is- I have little to no car knowledge at all. I had little interest in how cars actually worked until the last year or so, before then I always judged cars based on how they looked, so I never bothered to be in the garage with my dad when he would work on his CJ-7. Now it's been gone for around 3 years and I think its time I start to work towards bringing a jeep back into the family. What I am looking to do is build an awesome Willys CJ2a (or possibly MB) for off road and on road use, I have plenty of pictures to post to show you the look Im going for. Basically I am looking to build something that looks like a toned down rock crawler. This won't be a daily driver so I'm not too terribly concerned about the mileage. But back to the main issue, like I said I know little to nothing about vehicles or how they function so this will be more a question thread than a build thread, until I start to buy parts and build. My first question is about possible transmissions. I don't want an automatic, but I'm not looking for anything fancy and I am not very good at driving stick. What I was thinking is a 3 speed transmission. However I don't where to look, what to look for, etc. So I need help from people who know what they are talking about. I don't know what information you might need