86 XJ w/MPI budget (re)build - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Builds > 86 XJ w/MPI budget (re)build

Rough Country Deals at JeepHut.comSave at JeepHut on Smittybilt Soft topsUp to $75 Cash Back on Your ARB Fridge Freezer Purchase

Unread 04-20-2009, 01:10 AM   #1
Mr_Random
1986 XJ Cherokee 

86 XJ w/MPI budget (re)build

I hope you all are interested, I've been trying to get some response and help elsewhere but this seems like a good place to post up my original plan and how things have progressed.

Background: Got my 86 2.5TBI 5spd Cherokee when I was sixteen, after totaling my 97 Dak. The jeep ran great and had cold blowing A/C, but things went downhill quickly... I'm basically a broke pre-college student, minimum wage trying to gather parts, so bear with me please!

First mod: Junkyard lift! (most of these are crappy cell phone pics, sorry... I'll replace them with real ones soon!)

Front lift: Approx 4" (had a nice little gangster lean, get to that later)

Rear lift: Approx 3.5"

I apologize for the random sizing and such, I was barely seventeen and just learning how to get my intarwebz pics working!

My process was as follows;

ZJ V8 springs front w/1.25" spacers replacing my old isolators. That's about 3.5" with the coils alone.

Rear XJ pack (main and second leaves) bastardized into mine for 3.5"

I couldn't find a cheap shock solution at the time, and my stock shocks were okay, but last year I found JK shocks for $50 bucks, so I put them on and made BPE's for the rear with my stock rear sway bar brackets.

I wanted tires but I've never had a consistent job to pay for them and my parents haven't supported me much the whole way...