350 conversion questions complete novice. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Builds > 350 conversion questions complete novice.

Light up the holidays with LED lights from JeepHutIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRuffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!

Unread 01-26-2014, 01:24 PM   #1
Jparker1992
1994 YJ Wrangler 

350 conversion questions complete novice.

I'm extremely new to working on vehicles but want to learn and i love my jeep so i would really enjoy learning how to work on it. I am planning to convert it from a 4cylinder to a 350. I was referred to advance adapters for their kit and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions. My other question is how do I check and see what transmission is in my jeep. Also if it is an ax15 is that really suitable for a 350 conversion. I have heard differing opinions on that. I appreciate any helpful input thanks

Jparker1992 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-26-2014, 09:32 PM   #2
angelhitman
1969 C101 

Ok I will try to direct u some but there are many experts on here that can rattle info off top of there heads more precise facts. 1st clarify what jeep u have. 92 yj? Or xj. I believe the 2.5l often had the ax5. But u can check Novak they generally got some good info 2 nd what are u intentions ? Daily, rocks mud all the above? What is the sbc u are using ? Carb, tpi, ls1? Are u changing ur rear end ? Do u like clutch or auto? And finally what is ur budget?

A stock 80's 350 puts out low hp moderate toque 260ish hp and 280ish ft I lbs torque.

A 2012 ls3 can easily get 500 go 450 ft lbs torque.

1st combo probably ok for a dana 35 rear ax 15 combo on 31's mild offroad. 2nd motor not so good.