2004 LJ Cummins 4BT 1 Ton Transformation - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Builds > 2004 LJ Cummins 4BT 1 Ton Transformation

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineORS Recovery RopeSynthetic Winch Rope from ORS

Unread 09-10-2014, 05:47 PM   #1
Beowill

2004 LJ Wrangler 

2004 LJ Cummins 4BT 1 Ton Transformation

Hey everyone, I thought I'd share my build with you guys. Its an ongoing project that has taken over a year so far, as I am a full time student and I work part time, so progress can be very slow at times. I started this thread on wrangler forum, but It has and will have a lot of axle tech and 4bt stuff for people who want to do the same. I'm posting what I have up to this point. Enjoy

I've had a few jeeps in the past, a wrangler, scrambler, and cherokee, but I've wanted to do a diesel swap for a while now, and I decided to go with an LJ for my base. I scanned Davey's Jeep's for a while and finally found a rolled 04' that was mechanically sound, and only had a little body damage, save for the hood, fenders, grill, and roll bar. I ended up selling my cherokee in a hurry and getting the wrangler for a little under 4k

I drove up from Tennessee to Ohio with my good friend and trailered it back down here, getting 12mpg up, and a solid 9mpg back down with his Powerstroke f550, haha.

The overall plans for the build are as follows:

- Cummins 4bt out of a bread van
- Ford ZF5
- Dana 300
- 14bolt and Dana 60 with Detroit lockers out of a CUCV truck
- Clayton Pro series long arms, with 5 inch springs
- H1 double beadlocks, recentered, in 37 inch Goodyear Mt's
- Tube fenders, or Hi-line tube fenders
- Genright Cage