1962 Pickup Cummins 4BT swap - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Jeep Forums > Jeep Builds > 1962 Pickup Cummins 4BT swap

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitTHE NEW! VANCO DUAL MODE 15/16″ Big Brake Kit w/BlaFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 08-14-2013, 11:44 PM   #1
troyskibert

1962 Pickup Cummins 4BT swap

I'm a newbie:
I have started a new project: I have a 1962 Willy's pickup and I am swaping in a Cummins 4BT in place of the original I-6 that has began knocking and needs a total restoration/rebuild.

Has anyone done this sort of swap? I am wondering if I need to put a small body lift to be able to fit this engine? I am also wondering if I need to put new leaf springs since mine are really sagging and are all 10 stack leafs, front and rear. Wondering: should I go with 2 inch lift leaf springs to give a little more give for this heavy diesel engine that weighs over 570 lbs. I know I will have to reinforce the frame where I install the motor mounts.

I bought a 1998 Hostess Twinky truck with 4BT and 5 speed manual tranny to use on this swap. I am gonna try to use as much as possible from this donor truck. It has power steering and I want to keep the original steering system for now and wondering if I can trade the power steering pump for an A/C compressor so I can make it a proper California vehicle that I will use all seasons and don't want to roast driving down the highway in the summer.