XJ Light bar and light help - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Electrical, Audio, GPS, & 2-Way Radio > XJ Light bar and light help

Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Reply
Unread 10-17-2013, 01:53 PM   #1
XJoffroad757
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 13
XJ Light bar and light help

I have a 2000 jeep cherokee sport, and I am going to get a light bar above the windshield with lights on them, i'm wondering how to connect the wiring(hidden) to the high beams when turned on and not the normal lights?

XJoffroad757 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-17-2013, 01:56 PM   #2
biffgnar
Web Wheeler
 
biffgnar's Avatar
2006 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 14,535
Roof rack lighting on Cherokees generally wired by drilling through the roof and then run the wire down the A pillar behind the molding to get to behind the dash and then you should be able to do whatever you want with it. Hard wiring into the high beams is not a good idea IMO. Wire up a independent switch and mount in your dash. Be sure to use a relay though for the power to the lights.
__________________
Thank you Dave Cole, Dynomax, Falken and all the Spec Class sponsors!!
biffgnar is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-17-2013, 01:59 PM   #3
XJoffroad757
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 13
Ok thanks, how would i go about creating a new switch in the dash? By just drilling one in?
XJoffroad757 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-17-2013, 04:09 PM   #4
biffgnar
Web Wheeler
 
biffgnar's Avatar
2006 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 14,535
Quote:
Originally Posted by XJoffroad757 View Post
Ok thanks, how would i go about creating a new switch in the dash? By just drilling one in?
Lots of switches for sale out there. Shop around. Find what you like. Cut a hole in the dash for it to fit where ever you like. Hook the relay signaling wires to run through it.
__________________
Thank you Dave Cole, Dynomax, Falken and all the Spec Class sponsors!!
biffgnar is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.